A&W Vegan Food & Drink Options (2023 Menu)

✅ All Eat Drink Better articles and guides have been fact-checked for accuracy and nutritional recommendations. Please refer to our editorial policy for additional information.

Ordering vegan at A&W can be easy using this guide! Scroll down to see our top vegan food and drink recommendations, or use the search box below to search the full A&W menu.

Food Sections: How to Order Vegan Food | Best Vegan Food | Full A&W Food Menu
Drink Sections: How to Order Vegan Drinks | Best Vegan Drinks | Full A&W Drink Menu
Also See: A&W Ingredients To Avoid

Icon Key:

✅ – Vegan when ordered directly off the menu.
⚠ – Not Vegan, but can be customized to be vegan.
🛑 – Not Vegan, cannot be customized to be vegan.

💡 We regularly update these pages to ensure accuracy, however, menus change seasonally and ingredient usage may also change over time. We recommend verifying the ingredients of menu items before ordering if you have strict dietary needs. Our guide is based upon U.S. menu items – international items may vary.

How To Order Vegan Food At A&W

Majority of menu items at A&W are not vegan friendly because they contain cheese, eggs, meat, and milk.

If you don’t mind shared fryers and oil, you can build your own vegan creation by asking for a lettuce wrap with your fries!

⚠ Fried options are cooked in the same oil as menu items that contain non-vegan ingredients. You can decide if these fit your dietary preferences.

Best A&W Vegan Food Options

  1. Fries – These crispy, classic potato snacks are a mouthwatering vegan option!

Browse The Full A&W Food Menu:

Jump To Menu Section:
Burgers | Chicken | Fish & Shrimp | Hot Dogs | Sides | Dipping Sauces

How To Order Vegan Drinks At A&W

All of A&W’s shakes contain soft serve base, which has milk. No vegan milk alternative for this (😢).

Best A&W Vegan Drink Options

  1. Root Beer – Served ice cold, this one’s best enjoyed in A&W’s signature frosty mug!

Browse The Full A&W Drink Menu:

Jump To Menu Section:
Root Beer | Shakes

Non-Vegan Ingredients And Items To Avoid

Aside from the more obvious items like meat, cheese, milk, and eggs, here are some specific non-vegan items on the A&W menu that you’ll want to avoid:

Onion Rings – The batter contains milk.

Cheese Curds – These treats are packed with cheese, eggs, and milk.

Spicy Papa Sauce – Take note: Eggs are blended into this sauce.

Signature Soft Serve – Primarily made of milk.

Vegan A&W Food Menu





Fish & Shrimp

Fish & Shrimp

Hot Dogs

Hot Dogs

Sides & Dipping Sauces


Dipping Sauces

Sweets & Treats

Signature Soft Serve

Polar Swirls


Vegan A&W Drink Menu

Root Beer

Root Beer



All branded menu item names are trademarks of A&W unless otherwise mentioned. Eat Drink Better is not affiliated with A&W and this guide has not been authorized or reviewed by A&W. The information provided is based on our own research and experience, and is intended for educational and informational purposes only.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top