Ordering vegan at Steak n’ Shake can be easy using this guide! Scroll down to see our top vegan food and drink recommendations, or use the search box below to search the full Steak n’ Shake menu.
Food Sections: How to Order Vegan Food | Best Vegan Food | Full Steak n’ Shake Food Menu
Drink Sections: How to Order Vegan Drinks | Best Vegan Drinks | Full Steak n’ Shake Drink Menu
Also See: Steak n’ Shake Ingredients To Avoid
✅ – Vegan when ordered directly off the menu.
⚠ – Not Vegan, but can be customized to be vegan.
🛑 – Not Vegan, cannot be customized to be vegan.
💡 We regularly update these pages to ensure accuracy, however, menus change seasonally and ingredient usage may also change over time. We recommend verifying the ingredients of menu items before ordering if you have strict dietary needs. Our guide is based upon U.S. menu items – international items may vary.
How To Order Vegan Food At Steak n’ Shake
- When ordering food, avoid options with butter, cheese, cream, eggs, honey, meat and milk.
- Be aware – some of Steak ‘n Shake’s buns, like the ones used for their steakburgers, are not vegan. We’ve included them in the items to avoid section.
- When ordering salads, choose the Light Italian Dressing for a fresh and savory meal!
⚠ Fried options are cooked in the same oil as menu items that contain non-vegan ingredients. You can decide if these fit your dietary preferences.
Best Steak n’ Shake Vegan Food Options
- Garden Salad – Healthy and delicious, you can never go wrong with salad any time of the day. Be sure to pair it with Light Italian Dressing!
- Fresh Banana – Need a potassium pick-up!? Grab a banana! Perfect before or after a meal.
- Cajun Fries – Add a little spice to your favorite snack with this variation.
- Green Fresh Salad – Another healthy option, just be sure to customize it to suit your dietary preference!
Browse The Full Steak n’ Shake Food Menu:
How To Order Vegan Drinks At Steak n’ Shake
- When ordering drinks, avoid options that contain cream and milk.
- No-go on the Classic and Specialty Shakes! They all contain milk and cannot be customized to be vegan.
- Aside from milk and hot chocolate, all other drinks on Steak ‘n Shake’s menu are vegan friendly!
Best Steak n’ Shake Vegan Drink Options
- Brewed Coffee – Everyone’s go-to pick me up to help take on any time of the day.
- Minute Maid Lemonade – Take a minute to quench your thirst with this refreshing and cool drink!
- Soft Drinks – Bubbly and refreshing, pairs well with any meal!
- Hot Tea – A warm cup to of tea to warm the soul!
Browse The Full Steak n’ Shake Drink Menu:
Non-Vegan Ingredients And Items To Avoid
Aside from the more obvious items like meat, cheese, milk, and eggs, here are some specific non-vegan items on the Steak n’ Shake menu that you’ll want to avoid:
- Steakburger Bun – Contains milk.
- Wheat Bread – Contains honey & milk.
- Creamy Coleslaw – The coleslaw dressing contains eggs.
- Chili – Contains meat.
- Onion Rings – Breading contains milk.
Vegan Steak n’ Shake Food Menu
Chili & Sides
Sauces, Seasonings, & Dressings
Vegan Steak n’ Shake Drink Menu
Classic Milkshakes & Specialty Milkshakes
Tea, Milk, and Juice
All branded menu item names are trademarks of Steak n’ Shake unless otherwise mentioned. Eat Drink Better is not affiliated with Steak n’ Shake and this guide has not been authorized or reviewed by Steak n’ Shake. The information provided is based on our own research and experience, and is intended for educational and informational purposes only.