Browsing the "Vegetarian + Vegan Issues" Tag

string(0) "" Loading...

Food Labels for Ecovores: Avoiding Hidden Animal Ingredients

For many reasons, more people than ever before are exploring vegan, vegetarian, or other types of plant-based diets. If you’re trying to make conscious decisions about avoiding animal ingredients, knowing how to read and interpret food labels is a vital and valuable skill: animal products turn up in strange places!

January 20th

Heirloom Bean Project Wrap-Up

Now that fall is here the results of my summer heirloom bean project are in: a total yield of almost four pounds of beautiful dry beans of several types. In all I grew seven runner beans and five varieties of “common” beans in my suburban garden. Why the excitement? I think it’s fantastic to be able to grow a healthy, delicious, protein source in my own back and front yards. Besides that, I love the versatility of bean dishes, and the varieties are endless if you search beyond the grocery store. You can grow your own and enjoy cooking them all winter.

November 14th

What is Gellan? And a Vegetarian Gummy Bear Review!

I know, it’s hard to imagine why gummy bears wouldn’t be vegetarian, but most gummy bears contain gelatin, which is an animal product. So, you can imagine my delight when the folks at Goody Good Stuff contacted me about trying out their gelatin-free gummies! Unfortunately, the Koala Gummy Bears weren’t vegan, since they contain beeswax, but the Sour Fruit Salad was totally vegan. The whole line of Goody Good Stuff is also gluten free!

August 20th