An avocado option would really turn a veggie sub into a more filling sandwich, but I was wary, since fast food joints love additives that often include animal ingredients. When I got home from my trip, I checked it out on Subway’s website, and lo and behold: the avocado is just….avocado! Here’s a screenshot from their ingredients list (pdf):
- Cooking Tips + Kitchen Tips
- Eat Drink Better
- Eat Local
- Eating for Health
- Food Industry
- Sustainable Food Jobs
- The Green Divas Podcast
- Vegan Products
- Vegan Recipes
- Vegetarian + Vegan Issues
If you’ve never tried a veggie burger. You should try this one! It tastes nothing like a meat burger, so don’t expect that, but it has a good mix of flavors, a nice texture…and it’s healthy.
I wrote earlier in the week about Oprah’s decision to go vegan for one week and bring 378 of her staffers with her. The vegan challenge is up and Oprah has reported on it, so I thought I’d write an update for you.
New Year’s resolutions related to food are probably some of the most common. I guess it makes sense, given that food is such a central part of our lives and is also such a central part of many of our problems. Of course, as Heather pointed out earlier today, a lot of people don’t take […]
Sure, we’ve all seen the USDA food pyramid, but did you know that are several Vegan Food Pyramids out there, too?
One of the misconceptions about vegan eats is that you’re either living on salads or making some kind of elaborate, fake-meat based meal. That can’t be farther from the truth! Sure, I dig a good salad from time to time, but most of the meals we eat around here are much heartier and take less […]
We touched on hidden animal ingredients briefly when talking about the gelatin problem, but there are a number of other animal products in food that you might not suspect just based on the name. Here’s a roundup of some common hidden animal ingredients. Feel free to add any you know of in the comments!
Most folks associate dietary sources of iron with animal foods like red meat and eggs. Fortunately, there are lots of veggie sources of iron, and with a little bit of knowledge, it’s easy to work sufficient iron into a vegan diet.
Reader Lisa had a great question about eating vegan: I have a vegetarian friend and she told me she doesn’t eat jello or gummy bears because some gelatin is made from bone marrow. Is there a vegan friendly alternative? Sounds a little bit gross, but it’s true. According to Fit Sugar, gelatin is “made by […]
How do you deal with being vegan in social situations and when you’re eating out?
I’ve been doing this Eating Vegan series for a while now and have pretty much run the gamut of what was tough for me. Since a lot of you are either vegan now or looking to give the vegan diet a whirl, I thought I’d turn to you guys for some input! In case you […]
Last week, a commenter on my post about giving up cheese mentioned that eggs are a real stumbling block for her. She didn’t specify whether it was eggs in baking or the whole egg that she missed, but either way it’s a topic that bears addressing! While I can’t promise that there’s a reasonable vegan […]
Probably 80% of the time when I tell someone that I’m vegan the first words out of that person’s mouth are, “I could not live without cheese!” The other 20% of reactions are usually about steak or bacon, sometimes in a mean-spirited way and sometimes not. Today, though, I wanted to talk a little about […]