Whether you’re dealing with Celiac Disease or are sensitive to gluten, going gluten free can seem daunting. Here are some tips to help make it easier.
Going gluten-free can seem daunting. You might feel like you have to give up your favorite foods and snacks, but this doesn’t have to be the case. You can continue to eat well and even treat yourself on a gluten-free diet as long as you’re well informed and make smart choices for your body.
1. Finding Gluten Free Treats and Snack Foods
There are health food outlets that specifically cater for the gluten intolerant, and you can pick up plenty of replacement products like breads and cakes. Retailers like our sponsors at House of Goodness provide more information about the items that contain gluten and how to make gluten free choices when shopping and cooking.
Of course, you can also make your own gluten free snacks and treats at home. Try this gluten free cupcake recipe from Vibrant Wellness Journal!
2. Eating Foods that are Naturally Gluten-Free
The best way to embrace a gluten-free diet is to focus on all the foods that are naturally free from gluten.
Eat plenty of fresh produce, as all fresh fruits and vegetables are naturally gluten-free. Fresh meat that is plain (not coated in breadcrumbs, marinades, or seasonings), eggs and fish will not contain gluten, and you can indulge in these completely guilt-free.
It’s best to avoid faux meats if you’re a vegetarian or a vegan, as some of these are made from vital wheat gluten. However, plain tofu is completely gluten free.
For starchy foods, choose potatoes of any variety, including sweet potatoes, and whole-grain, white and risotto rice. Avoid starchy foods that are sold with seasonings, as you won’t be sure about the gluten-free status of these.
3. Choosing the Right Grains
Don’t make the mistake of writing off all grains as you begin your gluten-free diet overhaul. There are plenty of grains that you can use as dietary staples.
Quinoa has been hailed as the fashionable new healthy grain and is rich in protein. It cooks quickly and is favored by celebrities including Gwyneth Paltrow. Millet, buckwheat, teff, and corn are also naturally gluten-free.
4. Avoiding Dairy Products
Around fifty percent of celiacs are also intolerant to the proteins in milk and others find it difficult to digest lactose (the sugars that naturally occur in milk). Consider substituting cow’s milk for coconut, almond or soya milk if you have a sensitivity to lactose.
This post was brought to you by our sponsors at House of Goodness.
Image Credit: Gluten Free Sign via Shutterstock