Published on September 29th, 2010 | by Melanie Kozlan6
What do Vegans Eat? An A-Z Survival Guide
Vegan diets tend to be viewed negatively or as a great mystery. This is generally for one of two reasons:
1. They willingly don’t eat cheese.
2. Too many people temporarily go on fad ‘vegan’ diets consisting of gummy bears and french fries.
The first may be hard to believe, but the second is annoying in a multitude of ways. Obviously candy and junk food is not a sustainable diet and doesn’t have much to offer in regards to nutrition.
Worse: Candy is not vegan unless it is specifically vegan candy! Sugar (unless beet, or specified) is often processed using animal bone marrow, and gelatin is made of concealed animal fats and skin. This means gummy bears aren’t even vegetarian, let alone vegan. Even Kosher gelatin is only made from fish instead of cows or pigs. Also be sure to avoid these surprisingly non-vegan ingredients: albumin, lactic acid and whey.
Going vegan has many fabulous benefits but can seem intimidating and sometimes impossible. Generally the hardest part is knowing what you can eat. The more vegan recipes you research the easier the transition will be.
The following is a go-to survival guide for anyone interested in trying a healthier, environmentally-sustainable diet.
Avocados. When you give up cheese, they will become your best friend and favourite condiment!
Cereals, grains, oats. Also try: Coconut water! It has more electrolytes than artificially flavoured sports drinks.
Dates, raisins and other dried fruits. They are the perfect snack for anyone on-the-go.
Egg-substitutes. You can use a banana or 2 tbs of mashed tofu. (Or 2 tbs cornstarch/ potato starch).
>>Next: F through J
Keep up with the latest sustainable food news by signing up for our free newsletter. CLICK HERE to sign up!