Vegetarian + Vegan eating vegan

Published on July 2nd, 2009 | by Becky Striepe

28

Eating Vegan: Answering the Chocolate Question

Email this to someoneShare on FacebookShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on RedditShare on TumblrTweet about this on Twitter

eating veganvegan chocolate

From the land involved to the waste produced, conventional dairy production has a huge environmental impact. Not only is conventional dairy not great for the planet, it’s not so great for you. You can do yourself and your body a favor but cutting back on or cutting out the dairy in your diet.

Whenever folks learn that I don’t eat dairy products, there are certain questions they seem to always ask. One of the most common is:

But don’t you miss chocolate?

The assumption is that chocolate has to contain milk, and that’s just not true at all. What makes chocolate….chocolate…is cocoa butter which despite its name is a plant ingredient. There are tons of companies making great dark chocolate that is 100% vegan and 100% delicious!

Finding vegan chocolate is as easy as taking the time to do a bit of label-reading. While you might not be able to just grab a Hershey bar, you don’t have to live a chocolate-free existence, either. Here are just a few tasty options:

This is hardly a comprehensive list! With a little label reading, you’ll discover lots of other vegan chocolate options out there. Cocoa powder is usually vegan, too, which means you can add chocolate to your soy- or almond milk or to baked goods. Do you have a favorite brand of dark chocolate? I’m always looking for new sorts to try out!

Image Credit: Creative Commons photo by nicubunu



Keep up with the latest sustainable food news by signing up for our free newsletter. CLICK HERE to sign up!



Get social!
Use the buttons to connect with EDB on some of your favorite social networks!

Tags: , , , , ,


About the Author

My name is Becky Striepe (rhymes with “sleepy”), and I am a crafts and food writer from Atlanta, Georgia with a passion for making our planet a healthier, happier, and more compassionate place to live. My mission is to make vegan food and crafts accessible to everyone!. If you like my work, you can also find me on Twitter, Facebook, and .



  • russ

    Thanks! Now I know types to never buy!

    If a vegan type likes it I want nothing to do with it!

  • Robb

    Vegans also like potatoes, bread and tomato sauce (among a whole list of others!), will you also avoid them Russ?

  • Dave

    Thanks for the info and the environmental connection of dairy products…

    A question from someone who never liked the bitter flavour of dark chocolate – does anyone know of any dairy-free brands that taste more like “milk chocolate?”

  • Liz

    Thanks! Now I know what types to buy!

    Ps. Trader Joe’s has got several varieties of dark chocolate w/o milk. They are also organic and or fair trade, if I remember correctly!

  • http://glueandglitter.com/main Becky Striepe

    Dave – I’ve seen rice milk chocolate in stores before. I think it was this brand: http://www.veganessentials.com/catalog/terra-nostra-organic-rice-milk-chocolate-bar.htm

  • Antney

    Mmm. I love chocolate!

  • http://www.chocolatebar.com/ Ashlee

    Thank you so much for the support and including us in your “tasty options”. (:

    -Ashlee
    Endangered Species Chocolate

  • http://www.altereco-usa.com Jennifer

    Alter Eco has the absolute BEST selection of Vegan, Gluten-Free, Soy-Free and GMO-Free dark chocolate – and it’s USDA Certified Organic and Fair Trade Certified. You can’t get much better than that! My favorites are the Twist which contains crystallized orange peel, and the Mint – which tastes like a Girl Scout Thin Mint cookie but even better. I did not try these bars because I’m vegan, or even on a special diet, but they are simply the best I have ever had! Not bitter and a variety for every kind of taste buds! I will never eat another Hershey’s again!!!! You can find them at Whole Foods or visit the website for a complete list of distributors.

  • http://www.altereco-usa.com Jennifer
  • http://strikingattheroots.wordpress.com/ Mark Hawthorne

    Great list, Becky. It’s hard to beat dark chocolate — especially if it’s vegan. Thanks for putting this together.

  • http://glueandglitter.com/main Becky Striepe

    I hit up Whole Foods this evening to hunt for Alter Eco, but the one by me seems to be out! Boo. I’ll definitely be keeping an eye out…the Twist bar sounds amazing!

  • Helen

    Theo chocolate in Seattle has awesome vegan-friendly chocolate! They’re also fair trade and organic.

  • http://www.Greenertrends.com Kate

    I had no idea there were so many vegan chocolate options! I have tried a lot of the ones you mentioned and had no idea. Good to know.

  • John Chappell

    Great list Becky. I’m not vegan, but I have friends who are and now I can surprise them with a chocolate desert next time they’re over for dinner. Thanks.

  • http://www.rescuechocolate.com Sarah

    Rescue Chocolate is 100% vegan, down to the sugar!

    “Peanut Buter Pit Bill” is heaven on earth.

    All net proceeds go to animal rescue groups, check it out.

  • Rose Nestor

    I just checked the allergens document on Ghirardelli’s website, and it indicates that their semi-sweet chocolate chips now contain dairy. I’ll double-check when I visit the grocery store today–I’m really hopeful to find some accidentally vegan brand there, as the prices for the brands sold at the health food stores are a little high for me now. (I don’t have a Whole Foods near me with its own cheaper, generic brand.)

    It seems to me from Jennifer’s unstintingly positive comment and link that she totally works for Alter-Ego.

  • http://glueandglitter.com Becky Striepe

    Rose – Oh no! That’s a bummer about Ghiradelli. :(

  • Pingback: The Eating Vegan Digest: What’s Hard for You? : Eat. Drink. Better.

  • Pingback: Eating Vegan: Five Truffle Recipes : Eat. Drink. Better.

  • Pingback: Passover Recipes: Eating Vegan for Passover – Eat Drink Better

  • http://Web vegankitty64

    the endangered species candy wrapper says its processed on equipment that also produces candy with milk in it..so is it still vegan?? just wondering im a vegitarian im thinking about switching to being a vegan

    • http://importantmedia.org/members/beckyanne/ Becky Striepe

      That’s a good question, and one personal to many vegans. I’m OK with chocolate produced in the same factory as non-vegan chocolate, as long as the bar I’m buying doesn’t contain animal ingredients in the recipe.

      I guess it depends on your reasons for going vegan and how strict you want to be. Rather than punish Endangered Species Chocolate for being unable to afford a separate, vegan facility, I’d prefer to reward them for creating so many vegan chocolate bars, but other vegans are not OK with that. For me, it’s about voting with my wallet and supporting companies that produce vegan foods, but if your goal is to completely cut out any trace of animal products, you’d want to avoid chocolate with that kind of labeling.

      I hope this helps! I almost feel like it raises more questions than it answers!

  • http://Web vegankitty64

    it does kinda i mean my mom wont let me become a vegan until i leave the house cuz im already a pain with being a vegetarian lolz..so i guess im ok as long as its just milk..do you know if the sugar is processed with bone char or not..its kind of a stupid question but i just want to be thuro

  • http://Web vegankitty64

    oops lolz just read the label again it says beet sugar..im dislexic..if you cant tell from my spelling sorry

    • http://importantmedia.org/members/beckyanne/ Becky Striepe

      No problem! :) Is it organic beet sugar, by any chance?

  • Pingback: Vegan Cookies: Oat Flour Chocolate Chip – Eat Drink Better

  • Pingback: Eating Vegan: The “Shared Equipment” Question – Eat Drink Better

  • Pingback: Vegan Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies – Eat Drink Better

Back to Top ↑